Power Horse Invitational Begins Thursday At Grand Champions Polo Club

WELLINGTON, FL—May 11, 2016----The inaugural Power Horse Invitational, featuring six teams, will get underway Thursday at Grand Champions Polo Club.

Two round robins on Thursday and Friday will determine the top four teams for the subsidiary and final games on Sunday.

Among the player field is South African 7-goaler Tom de Bruin, making his season debut at Grand Champions. De Bruin will play for Flexjet along with Melissa Ganzi, Wes Finlayson and Juan Bollini.

On Thursday, Flexjet will play Sea Cap and The Dutta Corp in a round robin at 4 p.m. Valiente, Sonny Hill and Casablanca will face off in a round robin on Friday, also at 4 p.m.

The six teams are:

Casablanca: Gene Goldstein, Grant Ganzi, Julio Arellano, Juancito Bollini.

The Dutta Corp: Timmy Dutta, Piki Diaz Alberdi, Jason Crowder, Tim Dutta.

Flexjet: Melissa Ganzi, Juan Bollini, Tom DeBruin, Wes Finlayson.

Sea Cap: Mike Davis, Kris Kampsen, JJ Celis, Brandon Phillips.

Sonny Hill: Curtis Pilot, Francisco Bilbao, Francisco Lanusse, Gonzalo De la Fuente.

Valiente: Bob Jornayvaz, Santi Torres, Pablo Spinacci, Marc Ganzi.

On Saturday, the ChukkerTV Cup will be held at 11 a.m. featuring Grand Champions (Will Jacobs, Riley Ganzi, Juan Bollini, Lucas Lalor) against The Polo School (Tato Bollini, Martin Estrada, Nacho Lezica, TBA).

The remaining spring tournaments at the nine-year-old club are: May 20-22, Polo Gear Challenge Cup and Wellington Chamber of Commerce Kick-Off To Summer; and May 26-29,The Memorial.

In the spring season-opener Grand Champions Cup, Casablanca (Grant Ganzi, Juancito Bollini, Sebastian Merlos, Kris Kampsen) defeated Power Horse (Walter Scherb, Michael Bickford, Tincho Merlos, Nic Roldan),18-17. Kampsen was named MVP.

Casablanca won its second spring tournament the second week of the season in the Spring Challenge Cup. The team of Gene Goldstein, Grant Ganzi, Julio Arellano and Kris Kampsen defeated Team NR (Tim Dutta, Melissa Ganzi, Nic Roldan, Juan Bollini), 10-8. Melissa Ganzi was named MVP.

The Dutta Corp (Timmy Dutta, Tony Calle, Piki Diaz Alberdi, Brandon Phillips) won the Sun Cup title with an 8-6 win over Newport (Gene Goldstein, Grant Ganzi, Julio Arellano, Juancito Bollini). Calle was named MVP.

During the Grand Champions’ spring season, amateur polo players have the opportunity to play with and against some of the world’s top professional polo players.

ChukkerTV is live streaming Grand Champions Polo Club games along with other games around the U.S. during the 2016 season with polo broadcasters Toby Wayman and Dale Schwetz calling the action.

Grand Champions Polo Club is the nation’s busiest and most innovative polo club. The USPA-member club hosts polo tournaments ranging from six to 20-goal in addition to special events.

The club also features The Polo School, dedicated to teaching polo to all ages, particularly grass roots youth. Its mission is to provide individuals opportunities in polo. The Polo School operates in Wellington January through June and September through November.


May 12-15: Power Horse Invitational, Thursday, 4 p.m. Flexjet vs. Sea Cap vs. Dutta Corp, round robin; Friday, 4 p.m. Valiente vs. Sonny Hill vs. Casablanca round robin; Sunday, Final and Subsidiary, TBA.

Saturday, ChukkerTV Cup, Grand Champions vs. The Polo School, 11 a.m.

May 20-22: Polo Gear Challenge Cup; May 22, Wellington Chamber of Commerce Kick-Off To Summer with award-winning guest chef Shannon Atkins.

May 21: NYTS Tournament

May 26-29: The Memorial


WHERE: 13444 Southfields Road, on the corner of South Shore Boulevard and Lake Worth Road, Wellington, 33414.

DIRECTOR OF POLO: Juan Olivera, 561-644-5050, juan.olivera @gcpolo.com; hotline 561-373-0073.

INFORMATION: For spectators, there are great field side views for tournament action and also the Grand Champions Polo Club Boutique. The club is home base for pro teams Audi and Flexjet. Everyone is welcome to watch every level of polo in a relaxed atmosphere that includes a complimentary Argentine asado by Cilantro’s during the featured games of the winter, spring and fall tournament seasons and other special events. Admission is free except for some special events.